News & Updates

Stop Child Labour campaign in India

It takes a community to stop Child Labour. With this approach Hivos – an international organisation that seeks new solutions for persistent global issues – is supporting a great project in Rajasthan, India. We were happy to cover the personal success stories of the people changing their own lives for the best. Hivos uses those personal portraits and stories to bring the great results of the work they support to life.

This publication on Child Labour Free Zones is one of the examples where the photos are used. It always makes me happy to see how the combination of photography and great design makes a strong message.

Up close and personal for Mondiaal FNV

The last months we had the opportunity to visit places you normally won’t visit on the average around-the-world-trip. For Mondiaal FNV – the international branch of the Dutch Labour Union – we visited places in India, Bangladesh and Myanmar, where people are striving for better work conditions. We saw some horrible situations: like the extremely hard and unhealthy work in the stone quarries in India, or the terrible conditions of the workers in the textile industry or at the landfills in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Sometimes we were shocked by the unfairness in the world. But overall we were surprised and amazed by the immense power and resilience of the people working there: to unite and fight for their own rights, to get an identity and to make the best of life!

It was great to make portraits of the people that are making a difference there. The portraits and interviews show the amazing story behind the numbers and the great work that is been done to change their lives for the best.

On a Circumbendibus!

On a ridiculous detour in our old army ambulance, we will take the roads less travelled in search of an answer to a question that occupies our minds: how do we want to live our lives? Is a simple life – closer to nature and people – something for us?

On a 40.000 km circumbendibus through time and cultures, we will circle the northern hemisphere. On this expedition we will visit remote places and experience communities that choose to live a life far from our modern day society, but close to each other. From the traditional and nomadic groups in Central Asia, to the off-grid-communities in for example Europe and South East Asia. By joining those people in their day-to-day lives, we hope to find an answer. A perfect alibi to get the camera out and play ;-)!

Follow our stories on facebook.com/circumbendibus

Together with videographer Daan Huttinga we made this video:

On the Cover of the Lekker 2014!

Maybe some people have seen it on the television or in their local magazine shop?

The magazine: “Lekker”, THE annual restaurant guide of the Netherlands have asked me for supplying the cover photo!

The photo was shot for the gastronomic restaurant: Het Veerhuys.

Cover-Lekker-2014

Burning Man Exhibition in Utrecht

One of the many Journeys at Burning Man

Trying to explain what Burning Man is to someone who has never been to the event is a bit like trying to explain what a particular color looks like to someone who is blind. Everybody has his own different experience in this temporary Community. With this Exhibition we would like to share our experience with you.

From the 27th of April you are welcome to visit the exhibition in the smart-cafe State of Mind at Oudegracht 226 in Utrecht.

Enjoy!

Burning Man Exhibition

 

New Portfolio item: Reportage

Yeah I know… it has been too long!

It has been very busy with a mixture of photography, my other job and planning my next trip (will be a very nice update in September!).

I have a lot of nice things to show you, but for now there is one update on my website.

Top notch Restaurant ‘t Veerhuys in Almere has asked me to do my thing for their new website. So without further ado please have a look at my latest portfolio category: Reportage.

 

23rd of June @ Bazar Bizar!

Yes!

I will participate in a very nice art & music festival in Rotterdam.

It will be taking place the 23rd of June at the Charloisse Kerksingel in Rotterdam.

During this festival the truck, with which we drove from Holland to India in ’10-’11, will be used as the exhibition background. Here you will find photographs of this journey through Europe, Turkey, Iran, Pakistan and India.  Furthermore there will be more recent work available in different sizes, ready to hang on your wall or frame yourself.

Check out the website of Bazar Bizar for more info about this nice and inspiring festival.

Hope to see you all there!

 

Shooting Reportages for the FNV

It has been quiet on my website for a while, but that’s a good thing!

Among other things I’ve been busy with several reportages for the FNV about the striking cleaners. The cleaners are on a strike for more than 9 weeks now, they demand improved working conditions and more respect. The creative minds behind the strike-activities is Take a Detour.

Below a selection of photo’s from these reportages, the complete set can be found at http://www.schoongenoeg.nu/fotos/.

New Portfolio Item Added

New Portfolio item added!

Portrait of Jonathan Zandbergen, a successful young Chef from Utrecht.

Check it out at: Portrait: Chef

 

25-26-27 November, My first expo! *UPDATE*

The location is revealed and the list of participating artists is finished!

See below for more information:

Anja Mosselaar     www.anjamosselaar.nl

Bart Elfrink    www.bartelfrink.nl

Bibi Smit     www.bibismit.nl

Carla Molkenboer    www.cmsculpture.nl

Caroline Koenders    www.carolinekoenders.nl

Caroline Teesing    www.carolineteesing.nl

Cissy van der Wel    www.cissyvanderwel.nl

Daniel de Groot

Dorothe Arts    www.dorothe-arts.nl

Fieke de Roij    www.werkinsteen.nl

Frans Beelen    www.fransbeelen.nl

Gebroeders Bosma    www.gebroedersbosma.nl

Gera van der Leun    www.geravanderleun.com

Ilias Ernst    www.iliasernst.nl

Jesse v Boheemen    www.boheemenontwerp.nl

Jolanda Drukker Murray    www.jolandadrukker.nl

Juul Rameau    www.juulrameau.com

Lisette Koren    www.lisettekoren.nl

Martine Kolner    www.kairosfotografie.nl

Nellie van der Knaap    www.atelieraandewerf.nl

Rieneke de Jong    www.beeldetc.nl

Robbert de Jong    www.riebel.nl

Roderick Polak    www.roderickpolak.com

Ruth van der Veen    www.ruthvanderveen.com

Willemien Verkerk    www.wllmn.nl

Zeebra    www.zeebra-zeefdruk.nl